Weekly W.R.A.P Up

Watching
Mark Manson – Screw Finding Your Passion

Reading

Make two lists

On one list identify the grievances, disrespects and bad breaks:

  • People who don’t like you.
  • Deals that went wrong.
  • Unfair expectations.
  • Bad situations.
  • Unfortunate outcomes.
  • Unfairness.

It’s all legitimate, it’s all real. Don’t hold back.
On the other list, write down the privileges, advantages and opportunities you have:

  • The places where you get the benefit of the doubt.
  • Your leverage and momentum.
  • The things you see that others don’t.
  • What’s working and what has worked.
  • The resources you can tap.
  • The things you know.
  • People who trust you.

Now, take one list and put it in a drawer. Take the other list and tape it up on your bathroom mirror. Read the list in the drawer once a month or once a year, just to remind you that it’s safe and sound. Read the other list every day.

The daily list will determine what you notice, how you interpret what you see and the story you tell yourself about what’s happening and what will happen.

You get to pick which list goes where.

Picking your list is possibly the most important thing you’ll do all day.

Appreciating
Overnight Oats… I eat these every morning for breakfast they are seriously the greatest most versatile just best breakfast ever. Even on the days I really don’t see the point of getting out of bed I will at least get out to make these. I go to sleep looking forward to these.

Overnight Oats for One
1/2 cup Oats (I just rolled or steel cut Bod Red Mill’s GF Oats)
1 scoop Protein powder
1 cup Blueberries frozen  + any other fruit your feeling
1tbsp Cashew Coconut butter (I make this myself at home it is life changing but any nut butter will do)
+ Other toppings: coconut chips, cacao nibs, or banana chips… basically anything that makes your mouth water just add it on the top to complete this drool worthy breakfast.

Note: this is just the what I make for my breakfast personally but it should be adjusted to suit your desires so if you want more oats add bloody more oats, the more nut butter the better in fact go crazy… give yourself something to look forward to each morning. My overnight oats are like my own personal bowl of heaven!

Podcasting
The James Altucher Show: Ep 234 Charlie Hoehn – Getting Past Anxiety and Learning How to Play Again

  • Working for free to build networks and get the experience you require to master a skill. Everyone initially starts something and is bad at it, it is through practice and experience that you develop the skill and prove your worth.
  • “The opposite of play isn’t work, it’s depression.”
  • Every human being plays and it’s a critical part of evolution as a way to practice and learn skills. It also allows humans to gain empathy, make connection and explore their environment.
  • Using  play to cure anxiety and depression:
    1. What were the activities when you were young that you did for fun without thinking of the outcome, but just doing it for the enjoyment.
    2. Try incorporating a few of these activities into daily life. Instead of meeting people for coffee or lunch, try meeting for a game of tennis, a hike or playing a board game. Remember it is PLAY it is not to be taken serious but rather as a bonding activity.
  • You ability to be productive and work actually relies on your ability to play or take time to do things you enjoy.
  • Majority of success people would do what they are doing regardless of what they are being paid. It is often through actually doing something you enjoy or for your own benefit that a compound of effect occurs and success comes through passion. Its approaching life from a place of playfulness.
  • Play It Away: A Workaholic’s Cure for Anxiety by Charlie Hoehn

I really needed this podcast this week. I’ve been struggled with my mental space and motivation. I often find myself wondering what the point is of anything, having no motivation to get out of bed, dreading each day and just lacking the ability to enjoy anything. Sometimes it feels as though I’m simply not capable of being happy or enjoying life and that thought terrifies me, I keep telling myself and trying to have hope that it will get better but I’m terrified it won’t. Unfortunately when you have spent so long being trapped in your mind I think feeling happy or enjoyment is harder work than feeling nothing at all, you have to fight your own mind and it’s a fight not easily won. I’m still fighting everyday and every day I question why I bother and wonder if it’s all even worth it but I keep fighting sometimes even if it’s just by making it through the day. This podcast came to me in a time of need, I needed to be reminded that we need to find things we enjoy in life to give us meaning, when you are sick for so long and when you identity has been stolen by an illness especially a mental illness it’s easy to forget that you did once enjoy things. I can’t even remember a time where I just enjoyed something and just did something for fun, so that’s what I want to get back to, I want to get back to being able to do something, anything and not waiting for it to be over. I want to find something that gives me a reason to get out of bed and not waste another day drowning in my own caused self misery, the hardest thing with a mental illness is that often you have to choose to save yourself because no one else can do it for you. And I honestly don’t know if I’m even worth saving but I just have to hold on to that small amount of hope that it is going to get better, but it’s only going to get better if I keep trying.  Even when I’m exhausted and don’t see the point, that’s when trying is the most important thing you can do, just do the motions, do what you know you should, it’s that concept of fake it till you make it. I hope that even I keep trying to recover if I keep doing the motions if I keep trying that eventually I won’t have to try at all. We may not be designed to be happy but we are definitely not designed to be miserable, we are designed to survive and we each just need to find are own unique ingredients of life that make our particular recipe of life liveable. xx

Leave a Reply

